ABB-IEEE Award 2021 prize gives credit to the best degree and doctoral theses on the new technological challenges in energy and industry.
Among the winners, ranks also Claudia Di Lodovico, engineer, who graduated at University of L’Aquila, with the thesis “Axial Flux Permanent Magnet Motors for Electric Vehicles: Electromagnetic, Vibroacoustic and Thermal Analyses”, coordinated by the supervisor Prof. Marco Villani, technical director of the magazine Electric Motor Engineering and drawn up in collaboration with the University of L’Aquila and Spin Applicazioni Magnetiche.
The degree thesis work has evaluated the NVH, electromagnetic and thermal aspects of the innovative in-wheel solution allowed by the adoption of a direct-drive axial-flux permanent magnet synchronous motor.

Innovative promising ideas

The competition, sponsored by ABB and announced by the Italian Section of IEEE (the technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity, with over 400000 members worldwide), together with Women In Engineering Affinity Group – Italy Section, witnessed the selection of 46 candidates with 19 master theses and 27 doctorate theses.
Overall, 15 Italian Universities are represented, with proceedings concerning a broad range of topics: electric machines, renewable energies, smart grids, smart energy, robotics and industrial applications of artificial intelligence.

The winners

The excellent level of theses is the limestone on Italian research, increasingly characterized also by the proactive contribution of female students and professionals in the sector.
Here are the awarded people:
PhD Thesis category: Camilo Orozco Corredor (University of Bologna) “Scheduling of Resources in Renewable Energy Communities”; Marta Lorenzini (Milan Polytechnics) “A framework for the evaluation and improvement of human ergonomics in human-robot collaboration”.
Master thesis category: Davide Coraci (Turin Polytechnics) “Adaptive Control Strategies for Enhancing Energy Efficiency and Comfort in Buildings”; (ex-aequo): Claudia Di Lodovico (University of L’ Aquila) “Axial Flux Permanent Magnet Motors for Electric Vehicles: Electromagnetic, Vibroacoustic and Thermal Analyses” and Giulia Tresca (Polytechnics of Bari) “Intelligent Bin Packing Systems for Logistics 4.0”.